Guilt-Free Friday… Springtime Soup-n-Salad (or, The Return of Caesar)!

Standard

I took a “spring break” from blogging last week, which I truly needed, though I did miss working on a Guilt-Free Friday post. Ironically, the weather last week was less than ideal for spring, but the sunshine and warm temperatures are back, which has me craving a delicious, colorful salad and and cool, refreshing… soup. Yes, soup. Believe it or not, a raw soup can be the perfect compliment to a crisp salad on a warm spring day. I’ve been discovering some delicious raw soup recipes that are surprisingly quick and easy and taste so good you’ll feel like a gourmet chef.

First, the salad. I don’t know about you, but I love caesar salad. At least, I did until I became a vegan, after which my beloved caesar became streng verboten thanks to the anchovy paste and Parmesan cheese used in the oh-so-yummy dressing. I never really bothered trying to find a substitute because, well, how do you sub anchovies?

I should have known.

Leave it to Kristin to come up with a caesar dressing that’s raw, vegan and delicious! Thanks to her culinary genius, I can finally indulge in my favorite warm weather meal again (sans croutons, which are a caloric nightmare)!

A nice big salad may be enough by itself, but I usually like to pair it with another dish – in this case, a light but highly-nutritious gazpacho. The ingredients are simple and fresh and the taste is, well, see for yourself – it will quickly become a favorite! You can also warm this soup over low heat if you prefer. Enjoy!

Caesar Salad with Hemp Omega Caesar Dressing

  • 1 C water
  • 1/2 C extra virgin olive oil OR flax seed oil
  • 1/2 C hemp seeds OR 1/4 C hemp powder
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 3/4 tsp. mustard seeds (optional)
  • 1 Tbls. honey
  • 1 -2 Tbls. dulse (or more, to taste)
  • zest of 1/2 lemon

Blend all ingredients until creamy, pour over romaine lettuce and serve. Keeps 3 days refrigerated.

Gazpacho

  • 1/2 C water
  • 1/4 C extra virgin olive oil
  • 5 large ripe heirloom tomatoes
  • 2 medium red bell peppers
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pinch of cayenne pepper (or to taste)
  • 4-5 pitted dates
  • 1/4 C lemon juice
  • 1 bunch fresh basil
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 large avocado
  • 1 medium bell pepper
  • 5 sticks celery

Blend all ingredients EXCEPT avocado, 1 bell pepper and celery. Pour the gazpacho liquid into a bowl, chop the avocado, 1 bell pepper and celery into small cubes, and add to liquid. Garnish with fresh parsley or grated carrot and serve. Keeps 2-3 days refrigerated.

About Ruth

I'm happily married to and in love with my best friend, Bryan, and a stay-at-home-mom to our sons Kade and Xander. I occasionally do some Marketing/PR to pay the bills and freelance writing and editing because I just can't help myself. My life revolves around worshiping God, loving my husband, serving my church, connecting with my family and supporting my friends. I'm passionate about biblical womanhood, healthful and sustainable living, raw vegan cuisine, literature and comprehensive stewardship, among other things. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

