Product Review… Contigo Water Bottles

Standard

Please Note: I have received numerous comments and emails with questions and requests regarding Contigo bottles. Please understand that I do not work for or with Contigo; I’m just a satisfied customer sharing my positive experience with this product. Contigo has care instructions and answers to common questions here. If you have questions about the care of these bottles or concerns about issues you have had with the product, please contact Contigo directly and limit comments on this post to reviews about the bottles. Comments with questions about issues with the bottles will not be posted or replied to. Thanks! 🙂

Update (10/2011): I recently discovered that Contigo also makes their bottles in stainless steel, and immediately bought one to try. I love it! I’m now in the process of switching over to all stainless, so we can avoid plastic altogether (our family is working on eliminating all plastic from our home). The water tastes great – no metallic flavor at all, and the stainless container is sturdier than the Tritan, which is really helpful with an active two year-old around. 🙂 We’re completely sold on the stainless Contigos!

I am always on the hunt for healthier, more convenient, frugal alternatives to products we use everyday. Since I drink a LOT of water, I’m always actively searching for the best possible water bottles. I use them constantly, both at home and on the go. So I was intrigued by Tammy’s recent post on the Contigo water bottles she picked up at Costco. After reading her review, I decided to try them for myself. And boy, am I glad I did!

I LOVE these bottles! I mean, really love them, and as picky as I am about my water bottles, that’s saying something. Here are my favorite features:

  • 100% BPA free. No need to worry about the container you are drinking from – Contigo makes only BPA free bottles. It is absolutely essential to me that my water bottles be free of harmful BPA. Toxic plastic is an automatic deal breaker.
  • Patented AUTOSEAL® lid is 100% leak-proof and 100% spill-proof. Press to sip. Release to seal. AUTOSEAL® automatically seals between sips to ensure no spills. This was the biggest selling point for me. I hate having to fiddle around with caps and lids when I want a drink. I have a lid-less water bottle with a twist-up spout, but leaving it open means I inevitably end up with spilled water. With Contigo bottles, there’s no more water on the floor, the seat of my car, the diaper bag, etc. Love that!
  • One-handed operation for on-the-go drinking. Great when I’m trying to juggle a baby, toddler, two diaper bags and who knows what else, or when I’m pushing a stroller. It’s also a terrific feature during a workout. Also, no lid means no icky, smelly bacteria growth on the drinking spout. When you screw a lid over the drinking area, you create a warm, damp, dark environment over traces of your saliva – a breeding ground for bacteria. Gross! With Contigo, the drinking area stays uncovered and dry, so no more smelly  water bottle spouts!
  • Made out of stainless steel or BPA free Tritan™,if you prefer not to use stailess, both of which provide high impact resistance and won’t stain or retain odors. I’ve had to throw out several bottles after they developed an odor that I couldn’t seem to get rid of, no matter how often I cleaned them.
  • Carabiner clip on the handle makes it easy to carry. Attach it to a bag strap for hands-free portability. This is my husband’s favorite feature. He loves being able to clip the bottle to his belt loop and have his water with him at all times. And I love that he no longer loses his water bottle! 🙂
  • Top-rack dishwasher safe. Once we get a dishwasher, I’m sure I’ll appreciate this feature.
  • Wide opening fits ice cubes. I normally drink my water at room temperature, but occasionally in summer when the temp is in the 100’s, I’ll drop a couple of ice cubes in to cool off. It will be nice not to have to wrestle with them to get them in the bottle.
  • Volume markings help you gauge water intake.

The Contigo bottles come in a pack of three, in either pink/blue/green or black/green/purple embellished (Note: there are now several bottle designs; the new bottles released in 2011 have an improved grip, a great new look and an additional variety of colors. I’m really impressed with the new design!) . I chose the latter combo, giving my husband the black bottle and keeping the other two for myself (I drink significantly more water than he does!). These are 24oz. bottles, and while I prefer 32 ounces, the many terrific features make it worth refilling a little more often. If I’m going to be out for a while, I can just grab an extra bottle to have in the car, and it’s actually nice to have a smaller bottle to keep track of while shopping, etc. It also fits perfectly in the cup holder in my car and Kade’s stroller. Contigo does make a 32oz. bottle, which I may purchase soon to use around the house, as well as kids’ sized bottles, which we will be getting for Kaders when he’s a little older.

My husband just raves about these bottles – he loves the one-handed use, the AUTOSEAL®, and the carabiner clip. He actually high-fived me this afternoon and said “You’ve finally found the perfect water bottle for me, Schmoopie!” We’re both complete converts. I’m actually planning to pick up another set, we love them that much. Costco carries them for $18.99 – an excellent price for three high-quality, non-toxic water bottles. Especially when I checked them on Amazon – their best price is over $30! So run, don’t walk, to your nearest Costco (Now also available at Target – yay!), pick up a pack of these fantastic bottles, and enjoy!

About Ruth

I'm happily married to and in love with my best friend, Bryan, and a stay-at-home-mom to our sons Kade and Xander. I occasionally do some Marketing/PR to pay the bills and freelance writing and editing because I just can't help myself. My life revolves around worshiping God, loving my husband, serving my church, connecting with my family and supporting my friends. I'm passionate about biblical womanhood, healthful and sustainable living, raw vegan cuisine, literature and comprehensive stewardship, among other things. Thanks for stopping by!

18 responses »

  1. I will have to check them out. We forgot our REI water bottles at home in Washington so right now we are buying distilled gallons and cups. 😦

    Hey, you should be getting paid by Costco for such a great review. At least be sent something special 🙂

    • LOL. If I had a high enough readership, I could probably get Contigo to do a giveaway here on the blog. Someday… *Sigh*. 🙂

  2. No seriously…these bottles will change your life. I never used to drink enough water (not even close!), mainly because I hate unscrewing the lid, trying to drink in the car, or wherever, and losing my bottle. But now…I LOVE drinking water! No exaggeration! Maybe I should become their spokesperson…hmmmmm. Thanks for talking me into these awesome bottles, baby! Praise God for good – no, amazing – wives!

  3. I finally broke down and bought these bottles. I LOVE THEM! I did not drink near enough water, ever.
    The first time I used my new Contigo water bottle, I was hooked! Ingenious design and such convienence! These are really outstanding water bottles! Thanks so much for recommending them!

  4. I love these bottles — BUT the lwhit plastic seal between the screw-on top and bottle has failed on two of them. It wrinkles up and tears when I twist on the lid. It renders them worthless since the leak. Any one else have this problem — or know how to submit them for warranty?

    • I’ve never had this problem, nor has anyone else I know that has these bottles. Have you contacted the company? It’s possible that there may have been a bad batch on the seals.

  5. Pingback: Green Living: Reducing Waste « Above All Things…

  6. I too bought a 3-pack of these bottles at Costco. The entire family loved them, however after just one summer of use, the plastic clip on two of them broke – one broke one day and the second broke the next! Is there a lifetime warranty on these?

  7. When I orginally purchased these water bottles, yes at Costco, I was extremely happy with them. Unfortunately, the easy push button open is now getting stuck in the open position. Is anyone else experiencing this problem?

    • I have not had that issue. The only thing I can think of is that either you have a defective Autoseal button on your bottle, or perhaps you have hard water that has caused some mineral deposit buildup in the button, causing it to stick. If it’s the former, you can return the bottles to Costco and get them replaced (but hurry, because they’re not going to carry them over the winter). If it’s the latter, a good long soak in vinegar should help to release any mineral buildup. Hope that helps!

  8. I have these water water bottles for my kids and am REALLY CONCERNED about the plastic odours and residual taste in the water. What exactly does BPA Free mean and does it really make a difference if I can taste plastic. They go in the freezer with 1/8 water the night before use and the plastic doesn’t crack, and the mechanism makes for easy access. My kids drink more water wiht this water bottle for some reason………….. Please send any info or similar info for the plastic smell and taste.

    • These bottles are not intended for the freezer. I have never had any plastic odors or taste with these, so I can only assume that freezing them is what is causing your problem. I suggest you contact Contigo directly for information about the plastics used and their suggestions for proper use.

  9. After several months of loving these bottles, mine now have that dirty water smell that makes the water taste funny. I can’t get the smell out no matter how many times I wash them. I’ve soaked them and washed them several times, but I think the smell is in the lid. It’s hard to clean the little nooks and crannies in the lid. Has anyone else had this problem and has anyone been able to fix it?

    • We’ve had our bottles for over a year now, and just purchased more because we love them so much. We’ve had no issues with smell at all, even in the heat of a California summer. The best odor remover I know is vinegar – try placing the bottles/lids in a sinkful of warm water with 2 cups of vinegar overnight. In the morning, rinse, scrub with baking soda, and soak in a sinkful of warm water with 1 cup of fresh (not bottled) lemon juice for four hours. Rinse well and the smell should be gone. We also use only filtered water and all natural, chemical free dish soap, which eliminates any odor problems for us. Good luck!

  10. In response to cleaning the lids . . . We have the Water bottles, coffee/travel hot containers & children’s water containers. Have bought them for family members in different colors! What I do for the lids is use a toothbrush (turn the head) . . . seems to work well for us. We (all) LOVE our Contigo/Autoseal containers. They are awesome for in the car . . . NO SPILLS!! We even take them with us when we travel by air!!

    • That’s awesome, Beth! We have the hot containers as well, and I love them. Contigo products are perfect for travel. I’m looking forward to getting my toddler the kids’ bottle when he gets a little older and the idea of dumping water on the floor isn’t as much fun as it is now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

