A New Purpose

Standard

This is my second go ’round with blogging. I first began shortly after my wedding, as a way to keep in touch with the family and friends we’d left behind in Sacramento after to moving to Fresno to begin Bryan’s ministry. The thing is… no one actually read it, which made it significantly less fun. We were also unbelievable busy, so after a while, I just let it go.

Fast forward nearly three years later: I’m now not only a pastor’s wife, but a mommy too, and we are even busier than before! But through it all, this poor little abandoned blog has been calling to me, and several months ago, the “itch” to write got me toying with the idea of taking it up again. Over time, that “itch” became an ever deepening desire. As I prayed for God’s direction, He clearly confirmed my desire in a variety of ways, and also began revealing His plan for my blogging future. You see, it was important to me that I not just talk about myself and my family, but to really serve and encourage other women in their roles as wives, mothers and, most importantly, daughters of God. As I’ve sought the Lord on this, He has been faithful to provide me with new vision and a host of resources to do just that.

For the one or two of you who remember my former blogging days, you may have noticed a new title and tagline. I’ve chosen to call this blog “Above All Things” because it encompasses the scope of what I want to address here. 3 John 1:2 gives us a look at God’s desire for us as His children – that we prosper and be in good health, even as our souls prosper. That verse wraps itself around every aspect of our lives; the physical, spiritual and practical. Because of my passion for spiritual growth and healthful living, I felt this verse was a perfect fit. I hope we can grow together in those areas as we meet with one another here.

God has blessed me with a new sense of ministry and purpose, and it is my sincere hope and earnest prayer that you are blessed, uplifted, aided and yes, sometimes amused by what you read and see here. I’d love your feedback, as well as suggestions for things you’d like to see covered. And I’ll try to keep the posts about my precious baby boy to a minimum, but I’m not making any promises! 🙂

Abundant Blessings,

Ruth

About Ruth

I'm happily married to and in love with my best friend, Bryan, and a stay-at-home-mom to our sons Kade and Xander. I occasionally do some Marketing/PR to pay the bills and freelance writing and editing because I just can't help myself. My life revolves around worshiping God, loving my husband, serving my church, connecting with my family and supporting my friends. I'm passionate about biblical womanhood, healthful and sustainable living, raw vegan cuisine, literature and comprehensive stewardship, among other things. Thanks for stopping by!

5 responses »

  1. I am very glad to see you not only take up your blog again, but to take it up with such a wonderful purpose. You can always be assured of one faithful reader!

  2. Thanks so much Ruth! I really enjoy reading your blog. I find so much inspiration in your words! I hope you have a very Blessed day!

Leave a Reply

